European Film Awards

The European film Awards are 30 this year!

Founded in 1988, the European Film Academy now unites more than 3,200 European film professionals with the common aim of promoting Europe’s film culture.

European Film Awards logoWith global focus oftentimes pulled towards the US film industry, we are excited Europe remains united in this area: in its celebration of European film-making. The range of talent, skill, story-telling ability, technical prowess alongside multi-cultural/economic unions has resulted in a dynamic and restorative collection of nominations this year.

With 22 categories, the EFA among them European Film, European Director, European Actress and European Actor, the European Film Awards annually honour the greatest achievements in European cinema.

European Film Awards

Brandenburg Gate at sunset

The awards ceremony takes place in Berlin every second year. In the other years, the Awards travel: London, Paris, Rome, Barcelona, Warsaw, Copenhagen, Tallinn, Malta, Riga, Wroclaw …

This year’s 30th European Film Awards will take place in Berlin on 9 December at the Haus der Berliner Festspiele.

On this special occasion the ceremony will, of course, celebrate this year’s films and achievements, but it will also shed a special light on some of the films and people that have accompanied the EFAs throughout the past 30 years.

Guests- around 900 in total- and spectators of the livefeed will find references to some of these people and their films throughout the ceremony.

An ensemble of Johannes Bah Kuhnke (Sweden), Alex Brendemühl (Spain), Anna Geislerová(Czech Republic), Dave Johns (UK), Anamaria Marinca (Romania), Palina Rojinski (Germany) and Ivan Shvedoff (Russia) will bring to life some particularly captivating scenes from the rich diversity of European cinema.

Julie Delpy

Actress, director and screen-writer Julie Delpy

Julie Delpy,the French-American multi-talented actress, director and screen-writer, will be honoured with the European Achievement in World Cinema award. Aleksandr Sokurov will receive this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Cedomir Kolar will get the European Co-Production Award 2017 – Prix EURIMAGES.

Among the guests at the ceremony there will have been sound designer Samir Fočo  (Bosnia & Herzegovina), composer Raf Keunen (Belgium), costume designer Vassilia Rozana (Greece), hair & make-up artist Susana Sanchez (Spain), and production designer Tonino Zera (Italy).

This year’s nominations were announced at the Seville European Film Festival in Nov ’17. The 3,000+ EFA Members will have now voted for the winners.

They are all worth a look for sure!


Leading the field is THE SQUARE. Ruben Östlund’s social satire with five nominations: European Film, European Comedy, director and screenwriter as well as actor Claes Bang.

The Square

The Square from Ruben östlund

ON BODY AND SOUL (Teströl és lélekröl), Ildikó Enyedi’s romantic drama, follows with four nominations: European Film, director, screenwriter and actress Alexandra Borbély.

Two films have garnered three nominations each: Andrey Zvyagintsev’s divorce drama LOVELESS (Nelyubov) (НЕЛЮБОВЬ) as European Film, as well as Zvyagintsev for directing and together with Oleg Negin as screenwriter.

Yorgos Lanthimos is nominated for his surreal family drama THE KILLING OF A SACRED DEER. As director and, shared with co-author Efthimis Filippou, as screenwriter. Also, Colin Farrell, originally from Ireland is nominated as actor in this striking film.


Killing of a Scared Deer

Killing of a Scared Deer screenshot

THE OTHER SIDE OF HOPE (Toivon tuolla puolen), a refugee melodrama, directed by Aki Kaurismäki, is nominated for European Film and directing.

The remaining film nominated for European Film is Robin Campillo’s AIDS drama BPM (BEATS PER MINUTE) (120 battements par minute).  Actor Nahuel Pérez Biscayart received a nomination as well.

Nahuel Pérez Biscayart

Nahuel Pérez Biscayart

François Ozon is nominated as screenwriter for his period drama FRANTZ. Paula Beer received a nomination as best actress in the same film.

Still from Frantz

Still from Frantz

Isabelle Huppert and Jean-Louis Trintignant both received an acting nomination for their roles in Michael Haneke’s family drama HAPPY END.

Further nominations go to actresses Juliette Binoche in Claire Denis’ romantic dramedy BRIGHT SUNSHINE IN (Un beau soleil intérieur). As well as Florence Pugh, the young Brit and break-out star, in LADY MACBETH, William Oldroyd’s period drama.

Florence Pugh in Lady Macbeth

Florence Pugh in Lady Macbeth

Actor Josef Hader is also nominated in Maria Schrader’s biopic STEFAN ZWEIG – FAREWELL TO EUROPE (Vor der Morgenröte). This film is political cinema at its most archetypal. It’s the story of the final years of the great Austrian writer Stefan Zweig. Zweig lived in exile in South and North America between 1934 and 1941.

Last but not least, the documentary category includes AUSTERLITZ by Sergei Loznitsa (Germany). COMMUNION (Komunia) by Anna Zamecka (Poland).LA CHANA by Lucija Stojevic (Spain, Iceland, USA). STRANGER IN PARADISE by Guido Hendrikx (the Netherlands). And THE GOOD POSTMAN by Tonislav Hristov (Finland, Bulgaria).

La Chana Still

Image from La Chana

While the world box office has long been dominated by Hollywood, every corner of the globe has its own unique contribution to cinema.This wide range of European films- fictional, animated and documentary- prove this over and over it its’ breadth, depth and diversity.

By Clea Myers @camtweak

Sharing is Caring:


  • Casting
  • Dance
  • Modelling